‘If you place blogging on a pedestal it will always be unreachable.’

Posted: July 15, 2013 in Blogging
Tags: , , , ,

I recently read a post by ‘A Opinionated Man’ (and apparently, YES, he KNOWS it should be ‘an’) where he answered what for many of us must be a pressing question – ‘where does he find the TIME?’ 

For me, this is not such a current issue, as I am a waiting-to-graduate student (this Thursday!!), so I have no children to take care of (discounting the 29-year-old, 6-foot tall one), no job bar looking for one (which, admittedly is pretty much a full-time job, but at least I’m at home and can take an hour here or there to write!) and few responsibilities beyond making sure the reptiles are fed and the washing is done.

However, in the last paragraph of this post, which can be found here, OM explains how, in his opinion, it is less the lack of time which gives people problems, but the pressure they put on themselves while blogging. Many people feel they need the right music, the right mood, the right amount of free time ahead to even begin, or that spectacularly insightful idea to strike. OM suggests letting go of the worry, taking blogging off of that pedestal and treating it as something a little more…relaxed.

As he says ‘This post took 10 minutes.’ I took a leaf out of his book, and so did this one.

I think this is a pretty good life lesson, too. I need to stop worrying about whether I’ll fail, and simply try. I put off posting because I’m worried I don’t have anything really important to say, but that just means I’m not posting at all. I don’t apply for that job I really want, because then I won’t ever know I wasn’t good enough. But what if I was? What if I could have had that job? I don’t send a manuscript out because I’m just not sure it’s marketable, but what if I’m ahead of the curve and it’s the new big thing?

I think I need to stop worrying, and just do. I think that’s true for a lot of us.

What have you been putting off for fear?

Comments
  1. Very nicely said. That was a fun read thanks for the link! -OM

  2. Very true, Lily! This can be applied to many things in life. For me, writing was never a scary thing, but when I starting performing music in front of people, I was terrified. The more I did it, the more comfortable I got, and now, it’s no big deal. Plus, the more we do something, be it writing, art, music, or making irritating noises, the better we get – though I’m not so sure that’s a good thing in the case of that last one 😉

    • Hi, Nick! I think it’s just very easy to let yourself get wound up about something, and to make it seem far bigger and scarier than it really is. As you say, it’s a matter of practice, and getting comfortable with whatever it is you’re trying to do.
      Kung Fu masters say that to do something a thousand times commits it to memory, and to do it two thousand times makes it second nature. Of course, they are referring to physical movements, but I think it’s applicable to whatever art you are trying to master.
      Keep on slogging away until it feels natural is the answer, I think!

Leave a Reply

